The Treehugging Outdoorsman


Kayaking In Lake Baikal
March 20, 2007, 8:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

kayakIn a time when almost everything can be done without thinking much of the consequences or worrying how it will be done, an afternoon spent paddling in Lake Baikal wouldn’t be a ridiculous idea now. I’ve always dream of exploring and experiencing new adventures in different countries in different setting so when I’ve learned of a package tour that’ll fly me to Irkutsk which will be then a short drive to the shores of the Lake, I didn’t think twice of packing up my stuff in my ever reliable Deuter knapsack. Plus it was a short ride for me cos I’ve been lounging around Moscow now and running out of new activities to try.

Lake Baikal is the largest freshwater and deepest lake in the world and is home to more than 1,700 species of plants and animals that you won’t find anywhere else in the world. Paddling in my kayak at this grand creation of the Maker, I felt at ease and a sense of peace washed over me. Such a beautiful place I’ve never felt smaller cos it dawned on me that there’s a lot grander things than mankind in this world.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

sounds cool. but its really cold there too, right?

Comment by Rob Meadows

The water in the lake is cold, yes. But we do swim there in August, September and October. The lake is deep and warms up and cools down long. Come in July or August, will you?

Comment by Zoya Yampilova




Leave a Reply

